Your Guide To Pregnancy


A typical pregnancy will last around 40 weeks from the first day of your last menstrual period to the birth of the baby.

During the 40 weeks, the pregnancy is divided into three stages, called trimesters: first trimester, second trimester, and third trimester.

Pregnancy Chart
Trimester 1st Trimester 2nd Trimester 3rd Trimester
Month 0 1 2 3 3 4 5 6 6 7 8 9
Week 0-4 5-8 9-12 13 14-17 18-21 22-25 26-27 28-30 31-34 35-38 39-42

During the first trimester, a lot happens to the mother and fetus. The first three months is usually when the baby grows faster than at any other time. During these early weeks, the mother usually experiences physical body changes – breast soreness, lack of menstrual periods, fatigue, and more frequent urination.

In the second trimester, the baby’s organ systems have become fully developed, and from here forward, the fetus grows primarily in size and weight.

In the final three months of the pregnancy, the mother will begin to experience the symptoms of labor such as, repeated, regular and painful contractions.

stages of pregnancy

Return to Top